Roxbury, NJ DUI Car Accident Attorney Seeks Justice for You
Representation for drunk driving accident victims in Sussex and Morris counties
For decades, there has been a concerted, nationwide campaign to discourage people from drinking and driving. Still, about 30 people die every day across the United States in drunk driving crashes, for an annual total of about 10,000. Here in New Jersey, a survey by the Centers for Disease Control revealed that about 1.5 percent of New Jersey drivers take to the road after having what they believe is too much to drink. If you have been injured, or a loved one has suffered wrongful death at the hands of an impaired driver, Kevin T. Kutyla, Esq. can help. I have more than 25 years of experience as a Roxbury Township DUI accident lawyer, and I am determined to fight for the justice you deserve.
Knowledgeable lawyer outlines penalties for those convicted of DWI
Whether referred to as driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated, many states have increased the penalties for motorists who operate a vehicle in an impaired state. New Jersey has some of the toughest penalties in the country. The penalties for a first conviction for DWI in New Jersey include:
- Three-month license suspension
- Jail time from 12 hours to 30 days
- A fine of between $250 and $400
- Annual automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 for three years
- Possible ignition interlock device requirement for six to twelve months.
- Alcohol/substance abuse assessment and education
Penalties increase under various circumstances, including when the defendant is a multiple offender and when the motorist has an extremely high blood alcohol content (above 0.15 percent). Enhanced punishment also exists when an intoxicated motorist drives in a school zone or with a minor in the car. A DUI crash that causes physical injury or death could trigger felony charges.
Effective firm assists with insurance settlement discussions and lawsuits
Victims of DUI crashes are entitled to full personal injury compensation, including reimbursement for medical bills, lost income and compensation for pain and suffering. Although New Jersey is a no-fault insurance state, you can sue for serious injuries and wrongful death. As an accomplished Morris County auto accident attorney, I have extensive experience dealing with large insurance companies that try to limit payouts even in egregious cases, such as DWI-caused collisions involving passenger vehicles and commercial truck accidents. I have the skill to negotiate favorable settlements, or to pursue justice in court if the insurer refuses to be reasonable.
Experienced litigator explains third-party liability for New Jersey drunk driving injuries
New Jersey has a dram shop law, The Licensed Alcoholic Beverage Server Fair Liability Act, which imposes liability on bars and restaurants that serve visibly intoxicated individuals who then cause a DUI crash. This provides a viable alternative to recovery when a drunk motorist is operating without a license or insurance. Local municipalities, including Morris Plains, Parsippany and Morristown, are known for their lively restaurant and bar scene. We are prepared to investigate any crash to see if dram shop liability might apply.
Contact a proven DUI accident lawyer in Succasunna, NJ
For more than 25 years, Kevin T. Kutyla, Esq. has assisted victims of auto accidents, including those caused by drunk drivers, in Sussex and Morris counties. To schedule a free consultation, call 862-354-8931 or contact me online. My office is conveniently located in Succasunna at 15 Commerce Boulevard, just off Route 10.